Radio Free never takes money from corporate interests, which ensures our publications are in the interest of people, not profits. Radio Free provides free and open-source tools and resources for anyone to use to help better inform their communities. Learn more and get involved at radiofree.org

As cities and communities around the world practice social distancing to help slow the spread of the coronavirus, people everywhere have been turning to streaming platforms to pass the time and learn new things. But if you feel like you’ve watched everything there is, we’ve got great news for you — “The Innocence Files” is coming to Netflix in 13 days.

“The Innocence Files” is a documentary series that chronicles the work of the Innocence Project and other organizations in the Innocence Network fighting to overturn wrongful convictions.

On April 15, the nine-episode series will be available to stream on Netflix worldwide.

[embedded content]

Divided into three parts, the series dives deep into three different causes of wrongful conviction: prosecutorial misconduct, eyewitness misidentification and the use of unreliable or unvalidated forensic science. Over nine episodes, “The Innocence Files” tells the stories of eight people — Chester Hollman III, Kenneth Wyniemko, Alfred Dewayne Brown, Thomas Haynesworth, Franky Carrillo, Levon Brooks, Kennedy Brewer and Keith Harward — how they were wrongfully convicted, and their uphill battles for justice.

Executive produced and directed by Academy Award nominee Liz Garbus and Academy Award winners Alex Gibney and Roger Ross Williams, the powerful show connects viewers to the people driving the movement to reform the justice system and the individuals whose lives have been impacted by wrongful conviction. The series also includes episodes directed by Sarah Dowland, Academy Award nominee Jed Rothstein and Emmy Award winner Andy Grieve.

We can’t wait to share this series with you. Worried you’ll forget? Set a reminder on Netflix or RSVP here

Citations

[1] Sign up to become an Innocence Files Insider ➤ https://www.innocenceproject.org/petitions/become-an-innocence-files-insider?p2asource=blog_04022020[2]https://www.innocenceprojectpa.org/ChesterHollman[3] Kenneth Wyniemko | The Innocence Project ➤ https://www.innocenceproject.org/cases/kenneth-wyniemko/[4] Alfred Brown - National Registry of Exonerations ➤ https://www.law.umich.edu/special/exoneration/Pages/casedetail.aspx?caseid=4702[5] Thomas Haynesworth - Innocence Project ➤ https://www.innocenceproject.org/cases/thomas-haynesworth/[6]https://ncip.org/francisco-carrillo-jr/[7] Levon Brooks | The Innocence Project ➤ https://www.innocenceproject.org/cases/levon-brooks/[8] Kennedy Brewer | The Innocence Project ➤ https://www.innocenceproject.org/cases/kennedy-brewer/[9] Keith Allen Harward | The Innocence Project ➤ https://www.innocenceproject.org/cases/keith-allen-harward/[10]https://www.facebook.com/events/2884805988247974/